All The News That’s Fit to Print

Life got a bit hectic for a while, hence the radio silence across my social media platforms. I caught an unfortunate malady, which drove me to seek care at an urgent care clinic. That visit went something like this.

The Doctor: giphy (8)

Me:
giphy (10)

Long story short, she told me to go buy all of the over-the-counter medications that might possibly apply to my situation without giving me an actual diagnosis. And I paid $25 for that. What a bargain! But anyway, I’m feeling better, so onward to better things!

On the writerly side of things, the release of my short story, “Jenny Redcape,” exceeded my expectations. I ranked in a top ten Amazon list for a solid few days, got some good reviews, and got many shares and retweets. I owe that pretty much all to the enthusiasm and promotion of my family and friends. More than once, I found myself sitting in front of my keyboard, looking at what the people I love were doing to help promote my work, and crying like a baby.

I was all…
aze53

So what’s next? I’m going to be included in an anthology called The Death of All Things. No big deal. It’s not like it has bestselling, award-winning authors in it or anything. EXCEPT THAT IT DOES. And just look at that gorgeous cover. So yes, I lied, it’s actually a very big deal, and I’m super psyched for you all to read it. You can click the links in this paragraph for more information or to pre-order your copy. The anthology will be released on September 1st.

Death-of-all-Things

After that? Well, I’ve been finalizing my novelette, “Gretel,” for release as an ebook. It’s about 40 pages long, and it reimagines “Hansel and Gretel” to include pirates, an eerily peaceful village, and a trio of Greek-mythology-inspired crones. It’s very adventure-oriented and a little lighter than “Jenny Redcape,” although it is set in the same world. Meanwhile, I’m working on finishing my fantasy detective novel, submitting short stories to anthologies, and dreaming big dreams. Because what else is life for, aside from petting beagle bellies?

20621904_10159112899380635_4953307291558699735_n

Until next time, gentle reader.

About amandakespohl

Daydreamer. Fantasy writer. (Accidental) squisher of lizards. Care Bear filled with razors. One of the original @Plottymouths. Oh, and I'm a lawyer.
This entry was posted in Writing News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

